Who’s Out: Simon Gerrans

gerrans crashAustralian champion sprinter Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge), who crashed in a sprint with Mark Cavendish during stage 1, dropped out of the Tour de France today. The 34-year-old said he is still hurting from the fall two weeks ago.

“I know I haven’t been 100 percent right since my crash, but I was hoping to improve throughout the race,” Gerrans said.  “That hasn’t really been the case, so I have been putting on a brave face and doing what I can each day.”

The Orica-GreenEdge team is now down to six riders. Simon Yates left yesterday and Tour-newbie Mat Hayman quit on stage 10.

Leave a comment

Filed under le tour 2014

Leave a Reply

